Robert Birdwell, DDS, Chair

Dr. Birdwell is the former Regional Dental Director and Market Director at DentaQuest, the third largest dental benefits administrator in the United States. DentaQuest helps offer solutions for lower cost dental benefits to over 20 million members in state Medicaid and CHIP programs. Dr. Birdwell also served as the state dental director in both Arizona and New Mexico.

Deirdre Callanan, DC, RDH, MPH, Vice Chair

Dr. Callanan is the Director of Clinical Programs for the Colorado Association for School-Based Health Centers. She is responsible for increasing access for Colorado children to obtain comprehensive and integrated physical, behavioral, and oral health care through school-based health centers.

Katya Mauritson, DDS, MPH (ex officio), Secretary

Dr. Mauritson is the State Dental Director within the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment.  She received her Doctorate of Dental Medicine from Tufts School of Dental Medicine and her Master in Public Health with the Colorado School of Public Health. As a general dentist, Dr. Mauritson focused much of her work on delivering services to underserved pediatric and geriatric populations.


Patty Braun, MD, MSPH

Dr. Braun completed her pediatric residency at Yale New Haven Hospital and has been practicing general pediatrics in Colorado for the past 18 years where she serves a largely Hispanic population and teaches residents and students on a daily basis.  She is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Family Medicine at the CU Anschutz School of Medicine and a Clinical Associate Professor at the CU School of Dental Medicine.  She conducts oral health disparity research with support from NIH/ NIDCR and various Colorado foundations through the Children’s Outcomes Research and Colorado Native Oral Health Research Programs at the CU Anschutz Medical Center and the Colorado School of Public Health.  She is an active member of the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Oral Health and the Region 8 and Colorado’s Oral Health Advocate.

Lynn R. Burup

Ms. Burup is the Executive Director of Tri-County Health Network in Telluride.  Tri-County Health Network is a not-for-profit vertical network of healthcare providers within a three county area of west-central Colorado committed to improving the quality and coordination of health and healthcare services by increasing healthcare access and integrative health services at lower costs.  Previous to Tri-County Health Network, Ms. Burup was Vice President of Development for Colorado Choice Health Plans.

Diane Brunson, RDH, MPH (ex officio)

Ms. Brunson is Director of Public Health and Community Outreach for the CU School of Dental Medicine-Anschutz Medical Campus.  She also serves as faculty in the Applied Dentistry and Dental Hygiene Departments.  She has received many accolades for her work in oral health, including the Association of State and Territorial Dental Director’s Outstanding Achievement Award and was a fellow for the Regional Institute for Health and Environmental Leadership.

Matthew Cassady, Esq.

Mr. Cassady has been the Compliance Director at Delta Dental of Colorado since 2013. Delta Dental of Colorado is a nonprofit dental benefits company from which more than half of what it earns goes back to the local community. Previous to Delta Dental of Colorado, Mr. Cassady was Vice President, General Counsel for Staybright Electric in Colorado Springs.

Susan Downs-Karkos

Ms. Downs-Karkos is Director of Strategic Partnerships for Welcoming America. She works with organizations and communities in promoting welcoming, immigrant-friendly communities in which all people can contribute to their greatest potential. Ms. Downs-Karkos provides coaching, training and technical assistance to new and existing community partners, with a particular emphasis on the nation’s refugee network.

Greg Hill, Esq.

For the past year Mr. Hill has served as the Executive Director of the Colorado Dental Association. For the previous 15 years, he was the Assistant Executive Director of the Kansas Dental Association, where he also served for 10 years as the Executive Director of the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation, the parent organization of KMOM.


Alan Kislowitz, MSHA (ex officio)

Mr. Kislowitz has been working in oral healthcare for more than 30 years and is the Health Plan Manager for the Colorado Department of Health Care, Policy and Financing (HCPF). Alan manages Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+) state managed care network, as well as overseas Medicaid dental. Before joining the state organization Mr. Kislowitz was Medical Center Director for Kaiser Permanente Colorado, where he designed and chaired Kaiser the medical center’s premier community outreach program.

Ted R. Mentry III

Mr. Mentry is Vice President Business Banking Relationship Officer with UMB Bank Denver. His background includes 11 years of commercial banking with a focus on real estate, dental, and non-profit organizations. He previously was an Ambassador with the Metro North Chamber of Commerce supporting small businesses and is a supporter of the Metro Denver Dental Society.

Stephanie Rose, PhD

Dr. Rose is an Assistant Professor in Women’s and Ethnic Studies at the CU Colorado Springs and is Senior Pastor at Ebenezer Baptist Church in Colorado Springs. She holds a B.A. and M.A. in English Literature and received her Ph.D. in American Studies from Purdue University.

Kristy Schmidt

Ms. Schmidt is Director of Donor and Community Relations for Marillac Clinic in Grand Junction and has more than 18 years’ experience in nonprofit health care management. Marillac Clinic is a safety net clinic, sponsored by SCL Health System, that provides comprehensive health care and dental care services to low income, uninsured residents of Mesa County.